June General Membership Meeting + President By-Election Details

Dear members,

Our next General Membership Meeting will be held on Saturday, June 17th. Please note this meeting will be held in-person only. Please see the agenda and details for the presidential by-election below. All CUPE 3261 members are encouraged to attend! 

WHEN: Saturday, June 17, 2023, 10:00 AM – 12:00 PM

WHERE: Wilson Hall Residence, Room 1016 (40 Willcocks St)

Wilson Hall Residence is part of New College and is located across the Faculty Club. Street parking is available in the surrounding area, and it is also located steps away from the Spadina streetcar line.


  1. Roll call of officers
  2. Reading of the Equality Statement
  3. Reading and approval of minutes of previous meeting
  4. Election for President
  5. Nominations for executive board positions:
    1. Vice President
    2. Secretary-Treasurer
    3. Chief Steward
    4. Health and Safety Officer
    5. Full-Time & Part-Time Unit Rep.
    6. Casual Unit Rep.
    7. U of T Press Unit Rep.
    8. Faculty Club Unit Rep.
    9. 89 Chestnut Unit Rep.
  6. Nomination for trustee
  7. Oaths of office
  8. Treasurer’s Report
  9. Vote on 2023 event budget
  10. Adjournment


If you are considering seeking a nomination, please review Section 8 of the CUPE 3261 By-laws titled “Nomination, Election, and Installation of Officers” for detailed information on the nomination procedure and eligibility. 

If you have any questions about this procedure please don’t hesitate to get in touch with the Union office.

By-Election for President 2023

The vote for the By-election for President of our local will take place in person at the regular membership meeting held on June 17th from 10am – Noon at Room 1016 in Wilson Hall Residence at 40 Willcocks Street, Toronto, in accordance with Section 8 of CUPE 3261 Bylaws. You can access the CUPE 3261 Bylaws on our website or arrange to review a physical copy at the union office. You must be present in person at the meeting in order to receive a ballot.

The vote will be by secret ballot. Each candidate will have 5 minutes to make a speech to the members present prior to voting taking place. Speeches and voting will be in alphabetical order based on candidates’ surnames. The following members have been nominated and will appear on the ballot in alphabetical order based on the candidates’ surnames:

✔  Luke Daccord

✔  Kevin McDermott

✔  Edwin Viteri

✔  Tuan Vuong

The CUPE 3261 Elections Committee